Election night viewers guide

Nate Silver offers an hour-by-hour guide at Newsweek. Josh Putnam has an even better one. ((Especially better for us cartophiles!))

Also, at FiveThirtyEight, Nate notes:

I’ll have an electoral map updated in real time … not just including those states that have officially been called by the networks, but also my informed opinion about how the rest of the states are going to be impacted by what we’re learning in real time.

Nate also says he will be on air with Dan Rather on HDNet.
_________

0 thoughts on “Election night viewers guide

  1. Most news services called the election for Obama a little after 8 p.m. Pacific time. Nate Silver called it a “breathtaking moment.”

    McCain gave a gracious concession speech.

    Obama is on pace for 367 electoral votes. A near landslide. He’s ahead in Montana, North Carolina and Indiana, but not by much.

    Like

  2. McCain’s speech made me almost as emotional as Obama’s, in part because it was clear he was emotional. I assume about being part of history as much as about having lost. In part because, I do respect the man. In a different time, he would have been a very good President for a situation of divided government. But our time was now. Our time for a Democratic mandate.

    More on that later, once I get Word Press fixed. (I can’t log in, and my comments are not even posting–we’ll see about this one–though obviously others can comment.)

    Like

  3. Interesting. Today I am commenting from my campus office, and Word Press let my comment through. It did not recognize me on my home machine last night, so I assume those comments are in moderation. And that means I will likely see them only once I figure out the Word Press log-in problem for F&V.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.