Olives


By JD Mussel

img_20161102_173530The olive is one of the Biblical Seven Species (shiv’at haminim – שבעת המינים) of the Land of Israel. Growing up in the Lower Galilee, picking olives from our backyard tree was a yearly affair I enjoyed helping my parents out with from a young age. Although, once, we took some of our olives to an olive press in a nearby Arab village, my father would usually cure them in salt water with garlic, lemons, bay leaves and chili peppers. We’d pretty much have a year-round supply of olives at the dinner table, of which I was an avid consumer by the time we left Israel when I was 12.img_20161105_170610

Like Israel, most of California has a Mediterranean climate, and it so happens that UC Davis has many olive trees around campus. Having seen these soon after arriving in September I soon noticed that they still went unpicked in October. I called up the university grounds department, and was told I could take as many as I wanted. Naturally, I leaped at the opportunity…img_20161112_010736

 

 

And so, last month, after twelve weeks of waiting, they were ready.

 

img_20170205_142157I am very grateful to my parents for the inspiration and, of course, for the recipe.

 

One thought on “Olives

  1. JD, thanks for your first FRUITS planting, after many in the VOTES block.

    Having had the pleasure of receiving one of these jars of olives, I can attest that JD learned well how to cure them!

Leave a Reply

