Well, good old Bob Davidson, the umpire who took a run away from Japan in the game with Team USA, just took one away from Team Mexico, with an equally outrageously bad call. He ruled as a ground-rule double a ball that clearly hit the foul pole. In other words, it was a home run. However, this time, justice was served, in that the call cost a run, but not an out. Subsequently the run scored when a base hit drove the runner in from second. While the outcome was just, that does not excuse umpiring incompetence.
What a shame that the WBC is being marred by an umpire who was bad when he was formerly a MLB umpire, and is bad now.