What would an international sporting competition be without some controversial officiating? In the 8th inning of a tie game, the Japanese team scored a run on a sacrifice fly. But when the Team USA manager appealed, the third-base umpire was overruled by the crew chief and the run was anulled. Replays were not totally conclusive, but it looked like the initial call, and not the one on appeal, was the correct one. Not only did it cost Japan that run, but the runner’s being called out ended the inning, thus potentially costing more than the one run.